Edgar L. Hewett Award for Excellence

Silver City Museum

Silver City Museum


2020 Online

2018 Taos

2017 Los Alamos

2016 Santa Fe

2015 Carlsbad

2014 Lubbock, TX (w/ TAM)

2013 Las Cruces

2012 Albuquerque

2011 Farmington

2010 Las Vegas

2009 Santa Fe

2008 Roswell

2007 Silver City

2006 Taos

2005 Albuquerque

2004 Grants

2003 Las Cruces

2002 Taos

2001 Ruidoso

2000 Albuquerque

1999 Santa Fe

1998 Farmington

1997 Las Cruces

1996 Taos

1995 Las Vegas

1994 Roswell

1993 Los Alamos

1992 Silver City

1991 Santa Fe


hiatus due to COVID-19

Lisa Pugh - Deputy Director, New

Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage


Lucy Lippard

Jim Enote - Director, A:shiwi A:wan

Museum & Heritage Center

Julia Clifton - Curator, Archaeological

Research Collections, Museum of

Indian Arts & Culture

Ginger Moore - Volunteer, Lincoln

Historic Site

Christine Mather

Laurie Rufe - Former Director, Roswell

Museum & Art Center

Dody Fugate - Assistant Curator of

Archaeological Research Collections,

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture

Maurine McMillan - Director, Harvey

House Museum

Mimi Roberts - Director for Media

Projects, New Mexico Department of

Cultural Affairs

Sue Sturtevant - Director, Hill-Stead

Museum (formerly with DCA)

Louise Stiver - Past President, New

Mexico Association of Museum

Dr. Jim Harris - Director, Lea County


Thomas Livesay - Former Director,

Museum of New Mexico

Dr. Helen Lucero - Former Director,

National Hispanic Cultural Center

Wesley Rusnell - Curator of

Collections, Roswell Museum & Art


Susan Berry - Director, Silver City


Jim Walther - Director, National

Museum of Nuclear Science & History

Patricia Garcia Miles - Mesilla Valley

Museum Consortium

Mr. & Mrs. Dean Irwin

Dr. James Moore - Director,

Albuquerque Museum of Art & History

Dr. Peter Walch - Director, University

of New Mexico Art Museum

Dr. Edson Way - Office of Cultural


J Paul & Mary Taylor

Jose Lizarraga - Executive Advisor,

Mexican Cultural Center

Donald B Anderson - Businessman,

artist, & founding patron of Roswell

Museum Artists-in-Residence Program

Rick Homans - Publisher, Albuquerque

Monthly Magazine & President, Board

of the Albuquerque Children's Museum

Frank Zoretich - Columnist,

Albuquerque Journal's Cheap Thrills

Adventure Club

James "Mack" Griffin - Volunteer,

Sacramento Mountains Historical

Society (posthumously awarded)


Lloyd Kiva New Project

El Palacio

Palace Print Shop & Bindery

Museum of New Mexico Press

New Mexico Arts

New Mexico Humanities Council

Palace of the Governors Photo


New Mexico Holocaust Museum

New Mexico History Museum

Albuquerque Museum of Art &


Carlsbad Museum & Art Center

Grants County Chamber of

Commerce & the New Mexico Mining


TREX: The Traveling Exhibitions

Program of the Museum of New


Taos Museum Association

R D & Joan Dale Hubbard Foundation

McCune Foundation

Museum of New Mexico Foundation

BHP Minerals - New Mexico


R J Bailie - Untitled Fine Arts Services

New Mexico Association of Museums

PO Box #149 
1933 San Mateo Blvd. NE 
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Connect with NMAM



New Mexico Association of Museums, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software